CONCORD, N.C. (Sept 22, 2022) – Brittany Force and the Flav-R-Pac / Monster Energy Chevrolet dragster team are only nine points out of the lead heading to the Betway NHRA Carolina Nationals at zMAX Dragway, the second of six races in the NHRA Countdown to the Championship.

Already with four wins this season to equal her career best, Force was the first driver other than Steve Torrence to start the Countdown from No. 1 since 2016 and is well positioned to become just the fourth woman in NHRA pro drag racing history to win multiple championships (after Shirley Muldowney, Enders and Angelle Sampey).

“Charlotte is second on the Countdown list and after a challenging weekend our Flav-R-Pac team is ready to get the event started,” Force said. “First priority is to get back on track with solid qualifying. We will be looking for three consistent qualifying runs to get us in the top of the show. Every point matters and we have a shot to pick up some points with good qualifying runs. Race day we need to be going rounds. This countdown is short and we need to step it up and will be hunting down a win this weekend. 

In 2021, Force qualified No. 1 and was runner-up at the fall event at zMAX Dragway.  Although she has yet to win this race, she does have a win at the 4Wide Nationals at zMAX from the spring of 2016. Force holds the track record for both time (3.662 seconds on both May 14, 2021 at the 4Wide and Sept. 17, 2021) and speed (333.49 mph on May 16, 2021) and has qualified No. 1 twice at this event (2018 and 2021) and on both occasions went to the final round.  She also has started from No. 1 two times at the 4Wide (2018 and 2021).

Competition at the Betway NHRA Carolina Nationals at zMAX Dragway, the second of six NHRA Countdown to the Championship races, begins with qualifying Friday evening at 7:15 p.m. and Saturday at 2:15 and 6:00 p.m. Eliminations are slated for Sunday at noon. Television coverage of the event will be on FOX Sports 1 (FS1) and begins with a live qualifying show Friday at 7:00 p.m. ET. A second qualifying show airs Sunday at 2 p.m. ET with eliminations coverage at 3 p.m. ET.